Nebraska DUI Penalties
A conviction for driving under the influence, or DUI, in Nebraska can have a negative impact on numerous areas of your life including your job and your family. In addition, your court ordered sentence could include a term of incarceration, a hefty fine, a license revocation, and various other forms of punishment. Whether this is your first arrest for DUI or your fifth you need to understand what possible penalties you face if convicted.
The Nebraska DUI team at Petersen Law Offices is committed to defending individuals who have been accused of a DUI offense in Omaha, Cass County or Sarpy County, Nebraska. We understand how a Nebraska DUI conviction may change your life, particularly if you are convicted of a second or subsequent DUI and/or your case includes aggravating circumstances. For a free initial consultation for your Omaha or Sarpy County, Nebraska DUI case contact the team today by calling 402-393-8080 or fill out our online contact form.
Sentencing Considerations in a Nebraska DUI
There are a number of potential penalties you face if convicted of a Nebraska DUI, including a term of imprisonment, fines, license suspension or revocation, probation, and/or community work service. The penalties you face will depend on a number of factors, including:
- Previous convictions – the minimum and maximum penalties are always higher if you have a previous conviction for a Nebraska DUI.
- BAC – if your BAC level is 0.15 or higher you can be charged with an aggravated DUI which carries tougher potential penalties.
- Injuries – if you cause serious bodily injury, or death, while driving under the influence you may be charged with a more serious offense and, therefore, face harsher penalties.
- Age of defendant – if you are under the legal drinking age you can be charged with DUI with a significantly lower BAC level.
- License status – if your license was already suspended or revoked at the time of your alleged DUI you may face additional charges and additional penalties.
As a point of comparison, let’s assume you were just arrested for a DUI. You face a maximum 60 days in jail and a maximum license suspension of six months if convicted for the DUI without additional factors. That same offense, however, could result in up to 90 days in jail and a license suspension of up to one year if you have a previous DUI conviction. If you have a previous conviction AND the instant offense is an aggravated DUI, meaning your BAC level was over 0.15, you face up to one year in jail and a license revocation of up to 15 years. If you also caused serious bodily injury while driving under the influence you could face Class IIIA felony charges which carry up to five years in prison and a license revocation of up to 15 years.
Contact Our Office Now
If you’ve been charged with DUI in Omaha, call the Petersen Law Office at 402-620-6681, or contact us using our online form for non-emergency inquiries. We answer our phones 24/7 to make sure you receive the help you need when you need it.